Information on elections

On 25 June, snap parliamentary elections were held in Greece. The results are as follows:

Electoral results

New Democracy: 2,111,767 votes, 40.55%, 158 seats
Syriza: 928,940 votes, 17.84%, 48 seats
PASOK – Movement for Change: 617,045 votes, 11.85%, 32 seats
Communist Party of Greece: 400,456 votes, 7.69%, 20 seats
Spartans: 241,625 votes, 4.64%, 12 seats
Greek Solution: 231,317 votes, 4.44%, 12 seats
Victory: 172,003 votes, 2.92%, 10 seats
Course of Freedom: 192,088 votes, 3.69%, 8 seats
MERA25: 129,547 votes, 2.49%, 0 seats
Source: Ministry of Interior

About the electoral system

The electoral law that governed the 2023 elections was approved in 2016 by the coalition government of SYRIZA-ANEL. According to the Constitution, changes to the electoral law become effective from the second election following their passage. The law enacted by SYRIZA-ANEL in 2016 established a fully proportional system with a minimum electoral threshold of 3%. It eliminated the 50-seat majority bonus, which had been in place since 1990. In January 2020, shortly after regaining power, New Democracy, which has consistently supported majority bonuses since 1974, passed a new electoral law to reintroduce the bonus, albeit with a different formula. The political party that comes in first would receive an additional 20 seats (reduced from 50), while the total number of seats would increase from 250 to 280. A new sliding scale was introduced, disproportionately benefiting larger party lists: those receiving between 25% and 40% of the vote would receive one seat for every half percentage point within this range (up to 30 seats), before the proportional distribution of seats begins. The winning party could be awarded up to 50 extra seats. This law came into effect from 2020.
Source: eKathimerini

Selected articles

Kyriakos Mitsotakis wins second term as Greek PM after historic election win for New Democracy, 26 June, (Euronews)

Greece election: Conservatives claim resounding victory, 26 June, (Deutsche Welle)

Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis wins strong second term promising major reforms, 26 June, (CNN)