General Information

On January 13, 2024, elections were held in Taiwan to elect the President. Taiwan's current president, Tsai Ing-wen, having served two consecutive terms, could not run for re-election. The results were as follows:
1. Lai Ching-te: 5,586,019 votes, 40.05%
2. Hou Yu-ih: 4,671,021 votes, 33.49%
3. Ko Wen-je: 3,690,466 votes, 26.46%

About the electoral system
The president and vice-president are elected on the same ballot. The candidate with the most votes is the winner of the election. The term of office of the president is four years and there is a limit of two terms.

Selected Articles
Taiwan voters rebuff China, ruling party gets third presidential term, 13 January 2024, Reuters