Information on Elections

On May 5, 2024, general elections were held in Panama to elect the President, members of the National Assembly, and local governments. The results are as follows:

Electoral results

Presidential election:

José Raúl Mulino (Realizing Goals - Alliance): 778,772 votes (34.23%)
Ricardo Lombana (MOCA): 559,432 votes (24.59%)
Martín Torrijos (PP): 364,576 votes (16.03%)
Rómulo Roux (CD): 258,818 votes (11.38%)
Zulay Rodríguez (Independent): 150,338 votes (6.61%)
José Gabriel Carrizo (PRD): 133,791 votes (5.88%)

National Assembly:

Realizing Goals: 14 seats (New)
Democratic Revolutionary Party: 13 seats (-22)
Democratic Change: 8 seats (-10)
Panameñista Party: 8 seats (0)
MOCA: 3 seats (New)
People's Party: 2 seats (+2)
Alliance Party: 2 seats (+2)
Nationalist Republican Liberal Movement: 1 seat (-4)
Independents: 20 seats (+15)

About the electoral system

The president is elected by plurality vote in a single round. Of the 71 members of the National Assembly, 26 are elected in single-member constituencies and 45 by proportional representation in multi-member constituencies. Each district with more than 40,000 inhabitants forms a constituency, electing one MP for every 30,000 residents and an additional representative for every fraction over 10,000. MPs are elected using the first-past-the-post system in single-member constituencies and party list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies. Approximately three million people were eligible to vote in the election.

Turnout for the presidential election was 77.64%, with 2,332,563 total votes cast out of 3,004,083 registered voters.

Selected articles:

Panama’s Mulino declared ‘unofficial’ winner of presidential election, May 6, CNN