Senior Research Fellow


Dr. Odysseas Christou is the Head of the ISPD Green Transition Observatory. He is an Assistant Professor in Government, International Law and International Relations in the Department of Law at the University of Nicosia. He has previously taught at the University of Texas at Austin, the Texas Lutheran University, and the University of Cyprus. From 2014 to 2018, he served on the Cyprus Energy Strategy Council appointed by the President of the Republic of Cyprus and tasked with the development of a comprehensive strategic plan for the country’s energy policy. His main areas of teaching and research interest are energy, environmental, and climate law and policy at the international, EU, and national levels. He is currently working on different aspects of these areas such as energy security in international and EU law and policy, climate change in the Mediterranean and its impact on regional stability, the just transition of the European Green Deal, and the transformation of environmental governance in the pursuit of carbon neutrality. He is actively involved in a variety of existing networked efforts. He is a member of the Standing Group on Energy Politics, Policy, and Governance, and the Standing Group on Environmental Politics of the European Consortium for Political Research, and a national rapporteur for sustainable development for the International Academy of Comparative Law. He is also a member of multiple professional associations, including the American Political Science Association, the European International Studies Association, and the International Studies Association. He serves as an examiner for funding applications in these research areas for the European Commission, the European Research Council, the COST Association for European Cooperation in Science & Technology, as well as national institutions such as the National Science Centre of Poland and the Research and Innovation Foundation of Cyprus. He has served on numerous research projects commissioned by – among others – the European Commission, the Republic of Cyprus and the National Science Foundation of the United States on issues of international relations, security, energy, law, and development.