Information on Elections

On April 24, 2024, presidential elections were held in North Macedonia. Incumbent Stevo Pendarovski of the ruling centre-left Social Democrats ran for re-election to a second term. The results are as follows:

Electoral results

First round (April 24, 2024):

Gordana Siljanovska-Davkova (VMRO-DPMNE): 363,085 votes (40.09%)
Stevo Pendarovski (SDSM): 180,499 votes (19.93%)
Bujar Osmani (DUI): 120,811 votes (13.34%)
Maksim Dimitrievski (For Our Macedonia): 83,855 votes (9.26%)
Arben Taravari (Alliance for Albanians): 83,337 votes (9.20%)
Biljana Vankovska (Independent): 41,331 votes (4.56%)
Stevčo Jakimovski (Citizen Option for Macedonia): 8,121 votes (0.90%)
Invalid votes: 24,560 votes (2.71%)

Second round (May 8, 2024):

Gordana Siljanovska-Davkova (VMRO-DPMNE): 561,000 votes (69.01%)
Stevo Pendarovski (SDSM): 251,899 votes (30.99%)
Invalid votes: 48,289 votes (5.61%)

About the electoral system
The President of North Macedonia is elected using a modified two-round system. A candidate can only be elected in the first round if they receive over 50% of the votes from all registered voters. In the second round, voter turnout must be at least 40% for the result to be deemed valid. To contest the election, potential candidates must collect signatures from at least 10,000 registered voters or 30 MPs. The constitution mandates that the President must be over 40 years of age and have lived in the country for ten of the last fifteen years.

President before election: Stevo Pendarovski (SDSM) Elected President: Gordana Siljanovska-Davkova (VMRO-DPMNE) elated Articles:

Selected articles:

North Macedonia’s opposition VMRO-DPMNE party notches major election wins, May 8, Al-Jazeera