Information on Elections

European Parliament Election Results for Cyprus

On 13 June 2024, provisional results were announced for the European Parliament elections in Cyprus. These results determine how the 6 seats allocated to Cyprus will be distributed among the various political groups in the European Parliament.

Seats by Political Group
EPP (Group of the European People's Party - Christian Democrats): 2 seats
S&D (Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament): 1 seat
ECR (European Conservatives and Reformists Group): 1 seat
The Left (The Left group in the European Parliament - GUE/NGL): 1 seat
Others: 1 seat

Results by National Party

The provisional results for the national parties in Cyprus for the European Parliament elections are as follows:

DISY/ΔΗΣΥ (Dimokratikos Sinagermos):

Percentage: 24.78%

Seats: 2 seats in EPP (Group of the European People's Party - Christian Democrats)

AKEL/ΑΚΕΛ (Anorthotiko Komma Ergazomenou Laou):

Percentage: 21.49%

Seats: 1 seat in The Left (The Left group in the European Parliament - GUE/NGL)

Fidias/Φειδιας (Independent):

Percentage: 19.36%

Seats: 1 seat in Others

ELAM/ΕΛΑΜ (Ethniko Laiko Metopo):

Percentage: 11.19%

Seats: 1 seat in ECR (European Conservatives and Reformists Group)

DIKO/ΔΗΚΟ (Dimokratiko Komma):

Percentage: 9.72%

Seats: 1 seat in S&D (Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament)

Other parties:

Percentage: 13.46%

Seats: 0 seats

These results indicate the distribution of votes among the national parties and provide an overview of the political landscape in Cyprus as represented in the European Parliament. The Dimokratikos Sinagermos (DISY/ΔΗΣΥ) leads with the highest percentage of votes, followed by the Anorthotiko Komma Ergazomenou Laou (AKEL/ΑΚΕΛ) and the independent candidate Fidias/Φειδιας.

Source: Provided by Verian for the European Parliament

About the Electoral System
The European Parliament elections use a proportional representation system to allocate seats to member states. In Cyprus, the elections are conducted using a closed-list proportional representation method. This system ensures that the number of seats won by a party is proportionate to the number of votes received.

Key Features of the Electoral System:
Proportional Representation: Seats are distributed according to the proportion of votes each party receives. This method aims to reflect the preferences of the electorate accurately in the composition of the Parliament.
Closed-list System: Voters cast their votes for a party list, not for individual candidates. The party decides the order of candidates on the list, and seats are filled based on this order.
Thresholds: To ensure representation of a broader spectrum of political parties, many member states, including Cyprus, have electoral thresholds. A party must receive a certain percentage of the vote to gain seats in the Parliament. This threshold helps prevent very small parties from gaining representation and encourages more stable coalition governments.
Allocation of Seats: The number of seats allocated to each member state is recalibrated periodically based on demographic changes. This ensures that representation in the European Parliament remains fair and balanced relative to population shifts.
Voting Eligibility: European Union citizens residing in any member state are eligible to vote in the European Parliament elections of their host country, providing they meet the residency requirements. This allows for the representation of diverse voices within the Parliament.

The proportional representation system used in European Parliament elections ensures that the diversity of political opinions within each member state is represented fairly in the legislative process, promoting democratic governance and accountability at the European level.